Robert Blocker

Biography

Prof. Robert Blocker (USA)
The Henry and Lucy Moses Dean of Music, Professor of Piano, Yale University


Robert Blocker, the Henry and Lucy Moses Dean of Music at Yale University, is widely considered one of the nation’s most respected arts administrators and has been described by Yale University President Peter Salovey as “a transformative leader.” Following an initial decade of service as Dean of Music at Yale, Blocker served in 2005-2006 as Provost and Senior Vice-President for Academic Affairs at Southern Methodist University in Dallas. He returned to Yale to continue positioning the School of Music for success in the 21st century. Former Yale President Richard Levin said Blocker “is praised as a superb and visionary leader with a tremendous commitment to students, faculty, and staff at the School.” Blocker holds a tenured appointment as Professor of Piano at the School of Music and is also an affiliate Professor of Leadership Strategies at the Yale School of Management. He is an Honorary Professor and Fellow at the Central Conservatory of Music in Beijing. 

Prior to his Yale University appointment, Blocker was a Professor of Piano and the founding Dean of the School of the Arts and Architecture at UCLA, where he held a joint appointment in arts management at the Anderson School of Management. Blocker has also served as Dean at the University of North Texas College of Music, the Baylor University School of Music, and the University of North Carolina-Greensboro School of Music. He earned his Doctor of Musical Arts degree under the tutelage of the eminent American pianist Richard Cass and also studied with Jorge Bolet. Blocker was a Fellow at the Harvard University Institute for Educational management and is the recipient of four honorary degrees. 

In addition to the contributions he has made to the music profession as an administrator and educator, Blocker has enriched the lives of many through internationally acclaimed performances on the concert stage. He has been described by the Los Angeles Times as an artist of “great skill and accomplishment” who performs with “a measurable virtuoso bent and considerable musical sensitivity.” Blocker has performed with the Beijing Symphony Orchestra, Shanghai Symphony, Houston Symphony, Monterey Philharmonic, Prague Chamber Orchestra, Moscow Chamber Orchestra, Korean Symphony Orchestra, and Daejeon (South Korea) Symphony Orchestra. In addition to concerto and recital appearances, Blocker has collaborated with such celebrated chamber groups as the Tokyo String Quartet, Artis Quartet, Brentano String Quartet, and Shanghai Quartet. In 2000, Steinway & Sons featured Blocker with Van Cliburn and Billy Joel in a film commemorating the tercentennial year of the piano. Blocker served as editor of The Robert Shaw Reader (Yale University Press, 2004) and is currently working on a book titled Music: The Currency of Hope.

罗伯特·布洛克

个人简介

罗伯特·布洛克 教授(美国)
耶鲁大学音乐学院院长、钢琴教授


罗伯特·布洛克尔是耶鲁大学亨利与露西·摩西音乐学院院长,被公认为美国最受尊敬的艺术管理者之一,耶鲁大学校长彼得·萨洛维称他为 “一位变革型领导者”。在担任耶鲁大学音乐学院院长的10年后,布洛克尔于2005-2006年期间担任达拉斯南方卫理公会大学的院长、学术事务高级副校长。随后,他重返耶鲁大学继续带领音乐学院在21世纪取得成功。前耶鲁大学校长理查德·莱文称:“布洛克尔是一位出色、有愿景的领导者,致力于推动学院学生及教职工的发展”。布洛克尔是耶鲁大学音乐学院的终身教授(钢琴),兼任耶鲁大学管理学院领导力战略(Leadership Strategies)教授。同时,他也是北京中央音乐学院的荣誉教授及院士。 

在耶鲁大学任职之前,布洛克尔是加州大学洛杉矶分校的钢琴教授、艺术与建筑学院的首任院长,同时也在安德森管理学院担任艺术管理职务。同时,他还担任北德克萨斯大学音乐学院、贝勒大学音乐学院和北卡罗来纳大学格林斯伯勒分校音乐学院的院长。他师从美国著名钢琴家Richard Cass并取得音乐艺术博士学位,与钢琴家博列特(Jorge Bolet)一起学习。布洛克尔曾是哈佛大学教育管理学院(Harvard University Institute for Educational management)院士,并被授予四个荣誉学位。  

作为管理者和教育家,布洛克尔除了对音乐专业做出贡献外,还通过国际知名的音乐会演出丰富了许多人的生活。他曾被《洛杉矶时报》(Los Angeles Times)誉为“具有高超技巧和造诣、高度音乐质感”的音乐家。此外,他曾与北京交响乐团、上海交响乐团、休斯顿交响乐团、蒙特雷爱乐乐团、布拉格室内管弦乐团、莫斯科室内管弦乐团、韩国交响乐团和韩国大田交响乐团合作演出。除协奏曲和独奏会演出外,布洛克尔曾与东京弦乐四重奏、阿蒂斯四重奏、布伦塔诺弦乐四重奏和上海四重奏等著名室内乐团合作。2000年,施坦威公司在纪念钢琴诞生三百周年的电影中,介绍了布洛克尔、比利·乔尔和范·克莱本。布洛克尔曾任书籍The Robert Shaw Reader(耶鲁大学出版社,2004年)编辑,目前正在撰写名为Music: The Currency of Hope一书。